Reflections of a Learning Journey and the Connections made along the way

WOL imageI have recently come across what is a new concept for me – Working out Load.  I recently subscribed to Kate Pinner’s blog Rustic Learning.  I really like her tag line of “A personal space for sense making”.

In a recent blog post she writes about Personal Knowledge Management (PKM) and Working Out Load (WOL).

This is Johnathon Anthony’s definition of WOL:

“Working out loud is the willingness to share and to try and to keep things in (perpetual?) beta. Challenge one’s own orthodoxy, inculcate and encourage a tension in the work with others. Make bold promises that things can improve, and also that they might fail: show vulnerability whilst also being full of hope.”

In recent times I have tried to improve my skills as a self-directed learner and understand the benefits of reflecting on learning in different ways.  I have done a few posts on this blog to that end.

But the actual concept of WOL is new to me. I plan to research this a bit more but more than that I would like to put the idea into practice on a more regular basis.

 

Leave a Reply

